Restoration & Conservation 2012-2016

Margravian Opera House Bayreuth

Deutsch · Français · Italiano

Welcome

One of Europe’s great Baroque theatres, the Margravial Opera House in Bayreuth, is undergoing structural conservation and restoration in a project that started in 2012 and will probably last until 2016. Damage to the building’s valuable substance, as well as obsolete technology and design in the side rooms required in the 1960s, make careful conservation and restoration urgently necessary.

In its scale and quality, the Margravial Opera House is an extremely rare example of theatre architecture and decoration still surviving from the mid-18th century. Princess Wilhelmine of Bayreuth, sister of Frederick the Great of Prussia, commissioned Guiseppe Galli Bibiena – the most famous theatre designer of the period – to design the building.

The Bavarian Palaces Department and the State Department of Planning and Building Control are aiming to provide the public with information about the extensive architectural and restoration project in various forms. Panels providing illustrations and text will be presented in the vestibule of the Opera House (which is not initially affected by the work) and a fully illustrated leaflet will be produced. In addition, this web site will also be reporting on current plans and measures that are being implemented.


Current Announcements

Restaurierung & Sanierung 2012-2016

Markgräfliches Opernhaus Bayreuth

x hintergrund aus + hintergrund an
+ schrift -
english · français · italiano

Willkommen

Eines der großen Barocktheater Europas, das Markgräfliche Opernhaus Bayreuth, wird ab 2012 bis voraussichtlich 2016 baulich saniert und restauriert. Schäden an der wertvollen Substanz, aber auch eine veraltete Technik und Gestaltung notwendiger Nebenräume aus den 1960er Jahren, machen eine behutsame Sanierung und Restaurierung des Gebäudes dringend notwendig (→Sanierung, →Restaurierung).

Beim Markgräflichen Opernhaus handelt es sich um ein sehr seltenes Exemplar noch erhaltener Theaterarchitektur und -dekoration dieser Größe und Qualität aus der Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts. Wilhelmine von Bayreuth, die Schwester Friedrichs des Großen von Preußen, beauftragte den damals berühmtesten Theaterdekorateur, Giuseppe Galli Bibiena (→Geschichte).

Dem Auftrag zur Information über das umfangreiche Bau- und Restaurierungsvorhaben kommen die Bayerische Schlösserverwaltung und das Staatliche Bauamt in verschiedener Form nach. Neben Bild- und Schrifttafeln im (zunächst noch nicht von den Maßnahmen betroffenen) Vestibül des Opernhauses und einem reich illustrierten Faltblatt wird in Gestalt dieser Website über die aktuellen Planungen und Durchführungen berichtet (→Aktuell).


Aktuell